View Full Version: Bottomless Trap Hole

DYGO > Duel Rulings > Bottomless Trap Hole


Title: Bottomless Trap Hole


liz7 - May 30, 2010 07:49 AM (GMT)
QUOTE
Activate  only when your opponent Summons a monster(s)  with 1500 or more ATK. Destroy and remove from play the monster(s).



rulings:

CODE

  *  This card can remove from play multiple monsters at once, if they are Summoned simultaneously. Since this card can affect multiple monsters, it does not target.

   * If the opponent has "Lord of D." on the field and activates "The Flute of Summoning Dragon" to Special Summon 2 copies of "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", you can activate this card and both will be removed from play. "Lord of D." does not protect the Dragons because "Bottomless Trap Hole" does not target. The same situation would occur if only 1 "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" was Special Summoned, "Bottomless Trap Hole" still does not target.

   * This card can only be activated when the last thing that resolved in the Duel was the opponent Normal/Flip/Special Summoning a monster(s). It cannot be activated at any other time.

   * If "Cyber Jar" is flipped during a Main Phase, and the opponent Special Summons "Dark Blade", "Luster Dragon", "Magical Scientist" and a face-down monster, you can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" and both "Luster Dragon" and "Dark Blade" will be removed from play. The "Magical Scientist", face-down monster, and all monsters you Summoned will remain on the field.

   * If "Cyber Jar" is flipped as a result of being attacked, you cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" because it cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

   * If the opponent Summons a monster, then you activate "Bottomless Trap Hole", and the opponent chains "Book of Moon" to flip the Summoned monster face-down, it is not removed from play by the effect of "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * Use the current ATK at time of Summoning to determine if you can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole". So if the opponent Tribute Summons "Enraged Muka Muka" with 1 card in their hand, you can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" (since its ATK is 1600).

   * You cannot activate this card after "Jinzo" is Summoned.

   * You can activate this card after a monster was Special Summoned by the effect of another card, such as "Monster Reborn".

   * If the opponent activates "Monster Reborn" and then chains "Call of the Haunted" (so that 2 monsters are Summoned in the same chain), and then you activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" after that chain resolves only the monster Summoned by chain link 1 ("Monster Reborn") is removed from play.

   * Only the monster(s) that triggered "Bottomless Trap Hole" by being Normal / Flip / Special Summoned can be destroyed & removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole's" effect. Example: Player A Normal Summons "Dark Blade", and Player B activates "Bottomless Trap Hole" in response (Chain Link 1), then Player A chains the effect of his face-up "Ultimate Offering" to Tribute "Dark Blade" for "Summoned Skull" (Chain Link 2). "Ultimate Offering's" effect resolves first, and "Dark Blade" is Tributed for "Summoned Skull". Then the effect of "Bottomless Trap Hole" disappears because the monster it would have applied to is no longer on the field.

   * If this card is chained to the effect of one of the "Monarchs", the "Monarch" is removed from play, and then its effect resolves normally. A "Monarch" does not have to remain on the field for its effect to resolve.



CODE

Mentions in other Rulings

   * Amazoness Tiger: You can use "Bottomless Trap Hole" against "Amazoness Tiger" because its ATK is at least 1500 when Summoned.

   * Arsenal Bug: When "Arsenal Bug" is Summoned and there are no other Insect-Type monsters on your side of the field, your opponent cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" because the ATK of "Arsenal Bug" is 1000 when it is Summoned.

   * Book of Moon: If you chain "Book of Moon" to "Bottomless Trap Hole", the now face-down monster will not be destroyed by "Bottomless Trap Hole", but any other appropriate monsters Summoned at the same time will still be destroyed.

   * Command Knight: If "Command Knight" is Normal Summoned, Flip summoned, or Special Summoned, its ATK is at least 1600 so your opponent can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * Crystal Beasts: If a "Crystal Beast" is destroyed by "Bottomless Trap Hole" it will be removed from play and you cannot activate its effect.

   * Dimension Fusion: You can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" after monsters are Summoned with "Dimension Fusion"; "Bottomless Trap Hole" destroys the Summoned monsters on your opponent's side of the field, and your Summoned monsters are not destroyed.

   * Dramatic Rescue: You can activate "Dramatic Rescue" when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted... but not when cards like... "Bottomless Trap Hole"... are used.

   * Drill Warrior: Special Summoning “Drill Warrior” and adding 1 Monster Card to your hand do not happen at the same time. You Special Summon, then add the Monster Card to your hand. “Bottomless Trap Hole” cannot be activated.

   * Elemental Hero Darkbright: If this card is destroyed and removed from play (by "Bottomless Trap Hole", etc.) its effect to destroy 1 monster your opponent controls activates.

   * Fiend Skull Dragon: Cards such as "Bottomless Trap Hole"...will all apply their effects to "Fiend Skull Dragon" because these cards do not target.

   * Fushioh Richie: "Fushioh Richie" cannot negate cards like "Bottomless Trap Hole"... because they do not target.

   * Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World / Sillva, Warlord of Dark World: If "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" is discarded by your opponent's card effect, when his effect resolves, he is Special Summoned first, and then the second part of his effect resolves. So the opponent cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" [because] the timing is no longer correct...

   * Ido the Supreme Magical Force: The effect of “Ido the Supreme Magical Force” that Summons it in the Standby Phase, and its effect that destroys all other monsters, happen simultaneously. Therefore, you can activate “Torrential Tribute” or “Bottomless Trap Hole” when it Summons itself, as you have not missed the timing.

   * Imperial Iron Wall: While "Imperial Iron Wall" is active, optional effects that would remove card(s) from play cannot be activated, so the effect of... "Bottomless Trap Hole"... cannot be activated.

   * Imperial Iron Wall: Cards like "Bottomless Trap Hole"... cannot be activated while "Imperial Iron Wall" is active. If you activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" and "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, the destroyed monster is sent to the Graveyard instead of being removed from play...

   * Lava Golem: If you Special Summon "Lava Golem" onto your opponent's side of the field they can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" since you performed the Summon. You could not activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" even though the "Lava Golem" will be on their side of the field.

   * Magical Dimension: If your opponent activates "Magical Dimension" and chooses not to destroy a monster on the field, then you can activate..."Bottomless Trap Hole" to destroy the Special Summoned Spellcaster. If your opponent does decide to destroy a monster, then you cannot activate these cards because the last thing to happen was not a monster being Summoned. So you have missed the timing.

   * Magical Dimension: If you Summon a monster like "Skilled Dark Magician" and the opponent activates "Bottomless Trap Hole", you can chain "Magical Dimension" to Tribute "Skilled Dark Magician" and Special Summon another Spellcaster from your hand. This new monster will NOT be destroyed by "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * Maju Garzett: When you Tribute Summon "Maju Garzett", your opponent can use..."Bottomless Trap Hole" if appropriate.

   * My Body as a Shield: "My Body as a Shield" will negate cards such as..."Bottomless Trap Hole"...

   * Prime Material Dragon: "Prime Material Dragon's" second effect works like "My Body as a Shield". "Prime Material Dragon" can negate cards such as... "Bottomless Trap Hole"...

   * Royal Keeper: When your opponent activates "Bottomless Trap Hole" against "Royal Keeper", the +300 ATK effect of "Royal Keeper" resolves after "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys: If "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is destroyed and removed from play, such as with "Bottomless Trap Hole", it is not Special Summoned from out of play during the Standby Phase, because this effect activates in the Graveyard.

   * Shrink: If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated in response to a Summon and "Shrink" is chained so that the monster's ATK is less than 1500 when "Bottomless Trap Hole" resolves, that monster will not be destroyed and removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * Snake Whistle: You can activate this card when a Reptile-Type monster you control is destroyed and removed from by (by "Bottomless Trap Hole", etc.)

   * The Dragon's Bead: You can only activate the effect of this card to negate a Trap Card that targets a face-up Dragon-Type monster, so it cannot negate..."Bottomless Trap Hole"...

   * Trojan Gladiator Beast: "Bottomless Trap Hole" cannot be used in response to "Trojan Gladiator Beast" as it misses the timing, since the last thing happened was that the player drew a card.

   * Twin-Headed Behemoth: The opponent cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" when "Twin-Headed Behemoth" is Special Summoned by its own effect, because its ATK is already changed to 1000 at the time of Summoning.

   * Tyrant Dragon: When you Summon "Tyrant Dragon", the opponent can activate..."Bottomless Trap Hole" and destroy "Tyrant Dragon" because neither of these Trap Cards target. (However, "Trap Hole" does target and its effect will disappear if activated.)

   * Uria, Lord of Searing Flames: When a player Special Summons "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames" and activates its effect to destroy a Set Spell or Trap Card, no Spell or Trap card can be chained, including "Bottomless Trap Hole"...

   * Valkyrion the Magna Warrior: The opponent can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" and "Beta the Magnet Warrior" and "Gamma the Magnet Warrior" will be destroyed.

   * ZERO-MAX: The effect of ZERO-MAX Special Summons your "Infernity" monster then destroys monsters. Your opponent cannot use Bottomless Trap Hole or Torrential Tribute, even if you destroy no monsters.


CODE


OCG Rulings

   * The "Special Summon 1 monster" and "Increase the Level of 1 monster you control" effects of "Give and Take" are considered to resolve simultaneously. When you activate "Give and Take", after it resolves, your opponent can respond with "Bottomless Trap Hole".

   * If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is used against the monster Special Summoned by "Relieve Monster", the replay occurs after "Bottomless Trap Hole" resolves.

   * If "Imperial Iron Wall" is active, cards/effects that destroy and remove from play cards (such as "Bottomless Trap Hole") cannot be activated. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained to such an effect, then the affected card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, but is not removed from play.

   * When "The Wicked Avatar" is Tribute Summoned, its effect begins a chain. You can chain "Bottomless Trap Hole" or "Torrential Tribute" to this effect.

   * Destroying monsters and Special Summoning "Ido the Supreme Magical Force" are considered to occur simultaneously. You can respond to the Special Summon with "Bottomless Trap Hole" or "Torrential Tribute".

   * If "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed and removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole" etc, then you can activate the effect that Special Summons "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc.

   * With "Telekinetic Power Well", you Special Summon the monsters, and then you take damage. Because of this, you cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" etc, since you miss the timing.

   * With "Trojan Gladiator Beast", you Special Summon the "Gladiator Beast" monster, and then you draw 1 card. You do not do the two simultaneously. Because of this, "Bottomless Trap Hole" cannot be activated in response to the Special Summon.

   * "Bottomless Trap Hole" only destroys and removes from play the monster(s) whose Summon(s) provided the correct timing for "Bottomless Trap Hole" to be activated.
         o Example: "Monster Reborn" is activated and targets "Dark Magician" (2500 ATK). "Birthright" is chained and targets "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK). "Birthright" resolves first and Special Summons "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", and then "Dark Magician" is Special Summoned as Chain Link 1. If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated, then only "Dark Magician" is destroyed and removed from play because its Summon allowed "Bottomless Trap Hole to be activated.

   * If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated when multiple monsters are Special Summoned simultaneously, then all Summoned monsters with 1500+ ATK are destroyed.[11]
         o Example: Two copies of "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" are Special Summoned by "Dimension Fusion". If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated, then both copies of "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" are destroyed.

   * When "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is destroyed by a card effect, its effect to Special Summon itself during your next Standby Phase activates in the Graveyard. If "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is not in the Graveyard at this time, then its effect does not activate. If "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is destroyed and (then) removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole" (or "D.D. Crow"), then "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is not in the Graveyard, so you cannot activate its effect which Special Summons it.

   * The effect of "Bottomless Trap Hole" does not target. Thus, if "Lord of D." is on the field, then you can still activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" when a Dragon-Type monster with 1500+ ATK is Normal Summoned/Flip Summoned/Special Summoned, and the Dragon-Type monster will be removed from play normally.

   * "Drill Warrior" is Special Summoned during the Standby Phase, and afterwards you add a card to your hand. The two are not treated as resolving simultaneously. Thus, "Bottomless Trap Hole" cannot be activated; you miss the timing since you add a card to your hand after "Drill Warrior" is Special Summoned.

   * When multiple monsters Summoned simultaneously and "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated, if two or more of those monsters have 1500+ ATK, then "Bottomless Trap Hole" would destroy two or more monsters on the field, so "Starlight Road" may be Chained. However, if only one of those monsters has 1500+ ATK, then "Bottomless Trap Hole" would only destroy one monster, so "Starlight Road" cannot be activated.


CODE


Mentions in Other Rulings

   * Malefic Truth Dragon: You can Special Summon "Malefic Truth Dragon" if a "Malefic" monster like "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" is destroyed and removed from play by an effect like that of "Bottomless Trap Hole".


Basically,

- BTH does not target.
- BTH can destroy and remove play multiple monsters if it was summoned at the same time from a SINGLE card effect. (like RftDD but not like monster reborn chain CotH).
- you cannot BTH drill warrior cause the last thing that happened was that you add a monster to your hand.
-shrink and BoM "fizzles" BTH's effect.

<"z

hardedge - May 30, 2010 08:41 AM (GMT)
doesn't say anything abut shrink jer >.>

understandable ang book of moon since the monster is no longer on the field (the face down card is an entirely new card..unless it was targetted such as by Shield Crush/Tribute to the Doomed which will hit it no matter what position it is)

BTH-BoM scenario:

Player 1 Summon a 1500 Monster
Player 2 reacts with BTH
Player 1 chains with BoM
Chain resolves:
BoM flips the monster face down
BTH tries to resolve but there is no longer a monster to destroy, so effect fizzles out

Shrink-BTH scenario:

Player 1 Summon a 1500 Monster
Player 2 reacts with BTH
Player 1 chains with Shrink
Chain resolves:
Shrink Halves the monster's attack
BTH has already been activated, activation condition was met, that monster will still destroyed and be removed from play...

liz7 - May 30, 2010 10:34 AM (GMT)
sadly it did:

CODE

If "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated in response to a Summon and "Shrink" is chained so that the monster's ATK is less than 1500 when "Bottomless Trap Hole" resolves, that monster will not be destroyed and removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole".


http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Shrink

gonna have to go with this anitz sorry. stupid yugioh logic ><

<"z

hardedge - May 30, 2010 10:45 AM (GMT)
TCG rulings hahaa gotta see OCG rulings lol XD

earlkyo - June 1, 2010 08:39 AM (GMT)
kamo god? ahahahha :o

lexusf4tt2 - June 2, 2010 11:21 AM (GMT)
wait, naa ko question.... weird xa and somehow naay point...

QUOTE
- you cannot BTH drill warrior cause the last thing that happened was that you add a monster to your hand.


so, if sacred phoenix of nephtys was special summoned by its own after being destroyed by a card effect, it will activate heavy storm by its own effect... what happens to BTH?? can it activate even though the last thing that happened was effect to destroy spells and traps??

PhAYSe - June 2, 2010 02:45 PM (GMT)
Sacred Phoenix's effect to special summon itself starts a chain. Its effect to do its own Heavy Storm starts another chain. Those are two things that resolve simultaneously. However, the last thing to happen is the summon.

Drill Warrior's effect to special summon itself AND add a monster from grave to hand are one and the same thing. Drill Warrior's effect activates while still out of play and it is part of the same effect that special summons itself. When it is special summoned by its own effect, its effect still hasn't fully resolved. In order to fully resolve, the monster card has to be added from grave to hand, hence, that would be the last thing to happen.

lexusf4tt2 - June 2, 2010 03:01 PM (GMT)
QUOTE
source: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Drill_Warrior

TCG rulings:
    * Adding 1 monster in the Graveyard to your hand is part of the Trigger Effect that Special Summons “Drill Warrior” during your Standby Phase.

    * Discarding 1 card and removing “Drill Warrior” from play are both part of the same Ignition Effect. Discarding the card is not a cost.

    * If you control your opponent’s “Drill Warrior” and remove it from play, it will be Special Summoned to its owner’s side of the field during the owner’s next Standby Phase and they will add a Monster Card to their hand.

    * Special Summoning “Drill Warrior” and adding 1 Monster Card to your hand do not happen at the same time. You Special Summon, then add the Monster Card to your hand. “Bottomless Trap Hole” cannot be activated.

    * You do not target the Monster Card you return to your hand.

    * Even if you halve “Drill Warrior’s” ATK, you do not have to attack directly.

    * “Drill Warrior’s” ATK remains halved until “Drill Warrior” is removed from the field or flipped face-down.

Semi-Official

    * If you Chain "Book of Moon" to the effect of "Drill Warrior" which removes it from play, then "Drill Warrior" is still removed from play.

OCG Rulings

    * The effect of "Drill Warrior" which adds a card to your hand is resolved as the same effect which Special Summons the "Drill Warrior" which is removed from play.

    * You discard one card when resolving the effect of "Drill Warrior" which removes from play. It is not a cost to activate the effect.

    * The effect of "Drill Warrior" which removes it from play and the effect which Special Summons it are not treated as the same effect; "Drill Warrior" is not treated as being removed from play temporarily. Thus, if the effect of "Drill Warrior" removes it from play after control of it switches by an effect like "Mark of the Rose" or "Brain Control" or "Creature Swap", then "Drill Warrior" will be Special Summoned to its original owner's side of the field during its original owner's next Standby Phase, and its original owner adds a card from his Graveyard to his hand.

    * "Drill Warrior" is Special Summoned during the Standby Phase, and afterwards you add a card to your hand. The two are not treated as resolving simultaneously. Thus, "Bottomless Trap Hole" cannot be activated; you miss the timing since you add a card to your hand after "Drill Warrior" is Special Summoned.

    * The effect of "Drill Warrior" which halves its ATK gives it the ability to attack directly. The effect does not force "Drill Warrior" to attack directly during that turn's Battle Phase, so "Drill Warrior" can still attack a monster.

    * If "Drill Warrior" halves its ATK by its own effect, then its ATK remains halved as long as "Drill Warrior" remains face-up on the field. If "Drill Warrior" is flipped face-down or is removed from the field, then its ATK returns to the original amount.


yup, i think that pretty much covers it...

so... still, good bye nephy...


QUOTE
source: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Drill_Warrior

Once per turn, during your Main Phase, you can halve this card's ATK (permanently). If you do, it can attack your opponent directly this turn. Once per turn, during your Main Phase, you can discard 1 card and remove this card from play. During your next Standby Phase, Special Summon this card, if removed by this effect. Then, add 1 Monster Card from your Graveyard to your hand.


another weird question that could have been overlooked... it said in the card text, "Then, add 1 Monster Card from your Graveyard to your hand"

doesn't that also start a chain before it resolves in getting the monster card??

based on the rulings, it happened at the same time, but how can that be if the card text says "THEN"...

just something to think about... ^_^

if it both happened at the same time... then wouldn't the last thing that happened was both effects... >.<

but by careful understanding, the last thing that would happen is the adding 1 monster effect due to the "THEN" word on the card text... >.<

notice:
*to all who have tried reading this reply, im sorry for you for trying to understand me... hahahahahahaha!!*

PhAYSe - June 3, 2010 08:02 AM (GMT)
One thing comes into mind then: Bad official English translation XD

lexusf4tt2 - June 3, 2010 09:57 AM (GMT)
lagi... stupid yugi rules... haaay... naay simple english understanding, ipataas pajud nila samot ang effects... pwede kaayo eseparate ang effects, isahon jud, sabay jud dapat... samok kaayo... hahahahaha...

pati sa uban loop holes pud... i'll post new thread later on... kanang mga contradicting rules that apparently exists...




* Hosted for free by zIFBoards